That big black hole

ability_warlock_eradicationWell, we’re in the Twilight Zone. After leveling to 80, and getting my main quest lines done, I noticed that there’s really not that much to do until enough guildies level to 80 to get Naxxramas going. I have spent way too much money and time on leveling enchanting, while a few others knit together and run heroics back-to-back. Some people actually have fun and I envy them a bit, because I am not having much fun at all.

You see, I have upgraded my gear mostly, but still my DPS is lower than almost any other player I know with equal skill. Maybe it’s because we’ve got to focus on more stats now, but it feels like I need almost godlike non-existent gear to get myself out of the hole. I upgrade, and my DPS increases marginally. A fury warrior gets an upgrade, and adds double digits. I feel left out in many, many ways.

I could always do my dailies and grind rep and get myself one of those Dalaran rings. I could max fishing and cooking, and level my enchanting at steep prices to get enchants half the server will not need until about a month (and trust me, I am at 430 now, and nobody wants them. They are too expensive).

But in the end, all I want is to have fun. I’ve been playing with the thought of just leveling my Druid to 80, but in a series of unfortunate events my community’s lost some DPS players, and suddenly we need DPS people for our coming Naxx raids. At the same time, we’ve gained 2 healers, so that thought got repressed pretty quickly.

I’ll just have to strongarm myself into some decent heroics and make sure that my gear’s worthy of full enchanting and gemming.

I miss the days of being the mana battery. At least we were not 2-bit Mages with Affliction Lock gear.

5 Responses to “That big black hole”

  1. /hug

    Sounds miserable now but I’m sure it will get better. I’m a bit dismayed by the sudden complexity of out gear requirements but it’s bound to get easier. And presumably, your dps will improve too as you find the right balance and get used to a new play style. Hang on in there :)

  2. Just remember, even though there is a lot of stats its pretty easy to focus on the ones that are import to focus on.

    1 spellpower = 1 spellpower
    1 hit = 1.14 spellpower (up to cap)
    1 crit rating = 0.61 spellpower
    1 haste rating = 0.56 spellpower
    1 spirit = 0.21 spellpower
    1 int = 0.19 spellpower

    • Valio, you are correct in saying that it is easy to focus on a few stats. However, the values you quote, whether from SimulationCraft or ElitistJerks, may no longer be accurate.
      In addition, it seems that the stats we work on are based more on “feeling” now as well.

      Haste, while rated lower, is superior to me to Crit because it allows more casts per certain time frame. However, it burns through my mana so is not valid without sufficient mana regeneration.

      Intellect is rated lower on your list than spirit, while all my mana regen is based on %max mana, so if I wanted to max that, Intellect is more valuable than spirit. It also gives Crit to my spells.

      So you see that it is not quite as clear cut as numbers would wish you to believe. I have a friend who believes devoutly in the numbers. He will crunch them for hours to validate an upgrade or discard it. However, in the end it is also a matter of “feeling” whether an item works for you.

  3. pugnaciouspriest Says:

    Ive had the opposite – for all my moaning I was needed for raids less then 2 hours after i dinged 80 – we are ok for the 10 mans – but 25 mans will be harder to get enough of a core up.
    am waiting for a wws for our naxx run last night to see how bad I’m scaling, but I know what you mean gear wise – the game has just strarted on chasing upgrades, and I’m already feeling guilty for buying cheapo gems because I’m not sure when the next upgrade will be

    • Well, I am running heroics now too, my enchanting skill has picked up and I have begun leveling my druid on the side.
      So, things are looking up again.

      In a few weeks the raiding stop in my guild will end, and we will go pwn 25-man Naxx with our best friends, and it will all be behind me ^_^.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

