Things to be thankful of in Wrath

Cataclysm will mark new beginnings for many – Worgen and Goblin characters, new race/class combos, new raids and rated battlegrounds – but also the end of many things. I have made posts before on the removal of epic questlines, reputations and raids, and it seems like this week or the next things will come to their inevitable and final conclusion. That means it is time for me to recap the things I have done to fill my time until Cataclysm comes, and perhaps inspire someone to hunt after something to do in the last week(s).

Hero of the Zandalar Tribe

I managed to get Exalted with the Zandalar some time ago, and there’s still one or two lockouts to go to try and get one of the Zul’gurub mounts. It’s not hard to get this done at the moment, because two people can easily clear the place for rep, and the items that drop in the instance itself can be turned in for more. They are also sold on the auction house (bijoux and coins) so if you really want it, it can be yours for gold as well as time.

He fed on our tears, but made us heralds

What started as an initiative from another guild to complete Herald of the Titans led to me joining in and getting it as well. Miracle above miracles, it all went so well we also managed the achievement “He Feeds on your Tears” which involves no one dying during the fight and killing him in one go. Some other people joined in later who also wanted the title, so we ran it again a few times,  but now we’ve finally laid Ulduar to rest.

I would love to also get Alone in the Darkness done, but it becomes harder and harder to run Ulduar these days and the achievement is not easy even in ICC gear. But once I have free time again half-way Cataclysm I might revisit the place as both me and my guildmaster would love to complete a Vala’nyr as well…

Veteran of the Shifting Sands

It’s an epic questline spanning the globe and various instances inside it – a journey so long, expensive and devastating to morale it warranted me writing a guide on it. Completing this is one of those things that is completely pointless, since all gates of Ahn’Qiraj start out opened on new servers, and all of the old ones are already open. I won’t be riding a smexy black scarab (unless Archaeology is nice to me) but at least I will get a Feat of Strength for it – and keep the fond memories of doing the quests with two of my guildies.

Tribute to Dedicated Insanity

After the gearing for Herald, this became our new focus. People come and go and time has been an issue, but we’ve managed to one-shot the first four bosses of Trial of the Grand Crusader with no deaths and in appropriate gear. That alone I consider quite an achievement. Anub’arak proved to be a bit difficult still, but I am confident that if we manage to get our group together for the next lockout we will fare much better.

Dungeon Set 2 – Soulforge

Natarumah’s dungeon set was unfortunately very ugly, but the Soulforge set made me want to complete the questline to upgrade Dungeon 1 to Dungeon 2 on my Paladin alt, Aranth. It took a bit of time and many, many UBRS runs – but now that it is finally complete I am happy to have him sport his silver and purple plate armor.

Some classes do not have very interesting dungeon sets, but I consider the Paladin (Soulforge) and Druid (Feralheart) sets to be interesting enough that it would warrant putting in some extra effort.

Epic Class Quests

Gone but not forgotten are the quests to achieve rewards that were once considered the mark of a successful player: the Paladin and Warlock epic mounts, the Druid flight form, Anathema/Benediction and the Hunter quest for Rok’delar. I have been fortunate in that I loved doing these quests, so I managed to get them all done on my alts before they will be gone forever.

Quests that I have done also include the Shaman totem quests and the Druidic form quests, but to be honest I am glad that these will go away. It is one thing to do a quest to obtain something like a mount or epic item, but having to go to the ends of the earth just to get basic class abilities is something I don’t agree with.

Warlocks were in a similar boat, having to do quests to obtain their warlock pets. And while I also loved doing the quest for Ritual of Doom and learning the Curse of Doom spell from an obscure book dropped by Elite mobs or learning to summon an Infernal, I agree with Blizzard’s decision to remove those quests. Being able to call forth an Infernal or Doomguard used to be quite an increase in power and a surprise factor in PvP, but today we can use them as snugly little cooldowns. Better, in my opinion.

Mercenary of Sholazar

Today I will do the last quest to get myself Exalted with the Oracles and get the Mercenary of Sholazar achievement. I am glad I will have it done, especially since I never want to see those dim-witted Murloc offshoots and their Precious Pup enemies ever again. Ever. The saddest thing is that some people who want the Green Protodrake from the Oracle egg will have to come back more often – but not as sad as how I feel for people who just grinded from Oracles to Frenzyheart only to find out they offer nothing of use.

In the works

From what I heard, once the shattering has hit Azeroth, we will already be able to learn Archaeology and dig around for items in the wasteland of the world. That sounds like something I can spend some time on before December 7th, and I am hoping it will be.

Our Tribute runs will continue until we get the title or it goes bust, so that is also some time in the bag, as well as getting ready for Cataclysm. The first 10 professions skillups or so we can still get from Wrath materials, so I already started to gather a stash of it while I have the time for it.

For Cataclysm there are quite some projects I want to start, from a Troll Druid to a Worgen and a Goblin and perhaps even roll a Death Knight. I’ve been flirting with rolling one for quite some time, but never actually did. In that regard, Cataclysm at least will offer me a new leveling experience from 1-60, meaning I will have a lot easier time to get that done that now. Considering I have seen every quest at least 3 times on 7 different characters I can be grateful for that.

Conclusion

So, are you going to finish up loose ends in Classic or simply prepare for Cataclysm and steamroll through to level 85? And when you look back at Classic from level 85, what will you be glad you have done?

One Response to “Things to be thankful of in Wrath”

  1. […] I’ve also shared my thoughts on leveling a new character in the revamped Old World, and a wrap-up of things that were available up to Cataclysm but are now gone. Epic class quests, oh how I miss […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

