Seekers and Loremasters

ability_druid_flourishAs the realization dawned that I was finally going to get my violet protodrake this year (damn your sinister squashling!) I finally managed to set myself on the path to completing the Loremaster achievement. This I had wanted to do for a long time, for the following reason:

  • I always loved the old quest chains (even though some just seem to send you everywhere for little reward)
  • Some of the quest rewards are awesome (faerie drake pet, fun and useful)
  • Loremaster is still actually pretty tough, because of the time investment required
  • You get Seeker (and likely Explorer) while completing it
  • You get the classic dungeon achievements done
  • All of this will be changed or gone after Cataclysm, so I wanted to have it done before release

Now, as I am writing this, I have completed Loremaster of Kalimdor and Outland. I have about 20 quests in Northrend left, and less than 200 in Eastern Kingdoms (even though I hardly touched the place). These are some of my observations:

Questing is hard and slow

Even if you use WoWHead and have done all these quests before (on various toons) it is easy to miss quests or forget where to go and what to do. An easy fix is to install some form of Tourguide or Questhelper and simply skip the quests you already did. Don’t forget to turn on your tracking for low-level quests after every login, or you will be left wondering why you can’t seem to find any quests.

Also, it helps to turn on tracking for the Loremaster of Kalimdor and Loremaster of Eastern Kingdoms (and perhaps Seeker), because it gives you a  visual total of what you’ve accomplished. I found it very rewarding to creep up a few quests, and later find out I broke another hundred quests done.

Make a plan

Many quests are miles apart; the easiest way to go about it is to start at a racial starting area, complete all quests in that and the adjacent zone, and follow the breadcrumbs until you get to level 30’ish zones (like Stranglethorn Vale, Desolace or Alterac Mountains. These areas are usually places where quests from different races merge together and they all join into one single questing super-highway. Once you hit that point, go to another starting area. That way, you basically sweep everything up that you see until you hit the “center”, and take it from there.

Don’t be picky

Get all PvP quests, dungeon quests and raid quests you find, since most count. Remember that for repeatable quests, only the first one counts (which can be hard at times as the old world did not turn repeatable quests into a blue exclamation mark by default). Many quests also start in dungeons, such as the unsent letter from VonCleef in Deadmines, or the Heart of Hakkar. Easy turnins for some rewards and another notch in your questing belt.

A lot of quests that were a pain in the ass before are now much easier, and you will need them to hit the magical 700 (especially in Kalimdor for Alliance).

Another great way of getting some quests done (especially for Seeker) is to do the holiday events when they arrive. Hunting for Elders during Midsummer is a truckload of quests to do for XP or profit, while the same is true for candy buckets during Hallow’s End.

Remember well that this achievement takes time; I spent an average of an hour per day (before raids for instance) doing classic quests and about 4-6 hours in the weekend for nearly four weeks. The last 200 or so quests will take me another 2 weeks easily. Take your time, don’t try to finish it all in a week.

In the end, you can look forward to the following:

  • (Name) the Seeker
  • Loremaster (Name)
  • Completed many (if not all) classic dungeons and raids
  • Exalted with all faction cities (and thus access to their mounts)
  • Easy access to Exalted with Cenarion Circle, Argent Dawn and Timbermaw Hold
  • Close to completing 25 Exalted reputations
  • Close to (or at) completing What A Long, Strange Trip It’s Been
  • Being a player with extensive knowledge on lore, dungeons and quests in WoW

Now, that does seem worth it, doesn’t it?

3 Responses to “Seekers and Loremasters”

  1. Grats on the old world Loremaster achievements. I have to complete Loremaster of Kalimdor with about 50 quests remaining and I just can’t seem to motivate myself to do it.

    Perhaps when the release date for Cataclysm is announced? I don’t know.

  2. You are right that it can be tedious and lengthy completing the old world loremasters, I broke it up over a period of 4 weeks, but it is fun and rewarding. I actually earned my “seeker” title upon completion of the Kalimdor loremaster achievement….now I just have to finish that 20 in Icecrown to get my “Loremaster” :) Goodluck and happy questing!

  3. Good to note is also that once Cataclysm comes out, the complete revamping of the old world content most likely means that the old Loremaster title becomes a Feat of Strength.

    I have no idea whether they will make a second Loremaster achievement, but with a new name. It seems likely that they would retain the title – since alternatives are rare – but with the “streamlined questing” it should be much, much easier.

    As of writing this I need 75 quests in Eastern Kingdoms and a few in Northrend (which I am saving until I am fed up with EK so I have a break), so getting it this weekend is a possibility.

    I also only need to explore 2 more zones for Explorer, have done almost all classic dungeons and raids, and should be able to hit Exalted with Argent Dawn and Cenarion Circle.

Leave a Reply

