Being your own economy

One of the major advantages of many alts is having access to their professions – with a clearly defined main raiding character (and my restoration/feral Druid to raid with when we need a healer or melee in our 10mans) you can actually create a cycle of industry saving you heaps of money. As an example, outside of my repair bill which I cannot avoid at times, I make money by doing raids.

What have you done for me lately?

Besides being a fun diversion seeing the game from a different perspective, economics 101 says that our alts can also serve our mains. The first contact with this principle arrives when our main finds a BoE item and mails it to an alt, or your leveling alt sends cloth to your main who happens to be a tailor. This seemingly insignificant web of exchanges becomes greater and more complex as you level more alts and have more characters at max level.

One of the things I did when I created my alts is define what they will do for me, and how they will aid my other characters. I gave them specific roles in addition, to make it clear for me what each would be focusing on:

Slide3

As you can see, everything except leatherworking and jewelcrafting is covered – Blacksmithing is mostly useful for my warrior alt herself, and the belt buckles do not represent an investment so large I feel I should hurry it; also, my guild has plenty jewelcrafters so that’s not the biggest worry. While leatherworking would be useful for my Druid, she gets enough gear without having an alt devote time to that as well.

Classy farming

Engineers (such as my Druid) are awesome for clearing classic dungeons because you can put down a mailbox and/or Jeeves once your bags are full, sell or mail the proceeds, and carry on. That means two times the return on investment over going into a dungeon with my other characters. Of course, BoP stuff you still have to farm yourself, but then you are in there with a mission anyway.

This leads to the following chart displaying the gains Natarumah has from each of my alts; mind you that my warrior is only ickle yet and has to level to at least 69 to be of full usefulness:

Slide1

At this point, even with my warrior not fully leveled yet, I need very little resources – gems I can get from friends (and the belt buckles as well) but that means taking some time for it, which is rarely an issue. Hence, the only money I spend is for repairs, having stuff made by others when I do not have the pattern, or when I am impatient and need a lot of items which I can make but are on a cooldown (such as Ebonweave, Spellweave and Moonshroud).

One hand washes the other

But the fun does not even stop there; your alts also benefit your alts:

Slide2

When my Warrior needs gems to level jewelcrafting, my Warlock farms them. When my Druid needs herbs for inks, my Mage farms them. All of my alts can farm Eternals of one type or the other. My alts collect greens while leveling which Natarumah disenchants and turns into enchanting scrolls for my alts (the base scrolls come from my Druid, of course). This creates a situation where my Warlock farms blue quality gems, which my Mage uses to transmute epic gems and sell them on the AH. I sell one gem a day at about 150 gold profit, which I am saving up for letting my Druid make the mekgineer’s chopper. All of this makes life a lot easier.

Day job, take 2

Of some professions it might be an advantage to have 2 alts; a second alchemist can help greatly in transmuting business (limited use though) by making one  an elixir or potion master, and the second a Transmutation master. This guarantees that you never run out of flasks and transmuting procs, and with the prices of Frost Lotus you want to maximize what you get out of one. A second Miner, Skinner or Herbalist always comes in handy, but it’s usually something you do while leveling an alt; most people save spending a lot of money on professions until they are at least level 69, so they can powerlevel it. A second jewelcrafter (while tiresome) gives more daily quests, and twice the speed at obtaining patterns for you or the Dragon’s Eyes for your jewelcrafting needs. Most other professions are not worth having a second alt take if you already have one.

Two other pieces of advice to make this web work smoothly:

  • Get a bank alt or two, get some people to sign your charter and make a banking guild (pass them some gold and do warn them in advance you will kick them). That’s a lot of free space and you will need it.
  • Devote 1 or 2 bank slots on each of your alts for ” their goods” with the appropriate bag types (Enchanting bag, mining bag, etc.). So my warlock has 2 bank slots with Mining bags filled with ores. That way I always know where to find what I need – the one who farms it also banks it.
  • Use your bank alts to store “general items” such as cloth and eternals, as well as Classic/TBC materials (which you will not need daily) and BoE items you may find.

All of these tips are rather basic, and I am sure it can be enlarged even further with multiple accounts and the like, but this is as much accounting as I will do before it starts to take the fun out of playing a game. Just remember that your account is a team, and that you can save yourself a lot of money by not neglecting the potential of your alts!

So tell me, have you shaped up your team yet?

2 Responses to “Being your own economy”

  1. I have something similar, though not too well organized and with lots of overlapping:

    main – shadowpriest enchanter/JC – raids a lot
    prot pala – miner/JC (only one with epic flying) – raids a lot but mostly in pugs
    resto druid – skinner/elixir master – a few raids per week, mostly pugs
    hunter – skinner/LW – raids a little
    warlock1 – tailor/engineer
    warlock2 – tailor/skinner
    DK1 – miner/blacksmith
    DK2 – herb/scribe

    All these have max level skills in their professions. I have a few more alts with various professions. I generally try to use some gathering professions while leveling in combination with producing one that uses the gathered goods. That way I can gather stuff on the go and level the other profession. I could obviously just sell it aswell but I like leveling professions quite a bit :)

    I have 3 accounts in total since I wanted to try multiboxing. I haven’t done it much lately but having several chars online at same time gives me lots of other nice benefits.

    I also have an alt guild where all my alts belong. A few days ago their 4-tab bank was full of all kinds of stuff. I sold about one tab of stuff but still several alts have their own banks full of all kinds of stuff, e.g one low-level enchanter has around 30 stacks of each low-level enchanting dusts :D

  2. A good example of the `tiered` profession structure is my warrior; she has Mining and Blacksmithing now, and I use my mining to level Blacksmithing. I get a lot of leftover goods, which I store. Once she hits 69, I am going to exchange Mining for Jewelcrafting, and use up my store to powerlevel it.

    As for the Bank Alt guild, I have 2 bank alts, and each has its own guild. That way I have the most bank slots I can buy without spending ridiculous money. One is for Classic and ” fun” stuff, while the second holds my raiding goods, reputation items and the like.

    I always wanted to have a second account, mainly because I ran out of alt spaces on my home server, and it would allow me to ferry goods from Horde to Alliance and vice versa (note to self: good article idea).
    But it does cost some money; and when I do decide to go for it, I will RaF my alt’s asses up the stratosphere.

Leave a Reply

