My top 10 WoW moments

Sometimes you hit a point in World of Warcraft where you grow blase with everything – the scenery isn’t as engaging anymore, the raids are less fulfilling, and your Xth minipet is stuffed inside your pocket, never to see the light of day again. It’s all too easy to lose yourself to the grind, to value achievements and progression more than your own fun. So, time to reflect on some of the best things I have experienced in World of Warcraft over the last four years.

10 – Getting Natarumah her flying mount

I don’t know about you, but the first things I did when I picked up my shiny griffin over at Shadowmoon Valley was zoom around for a few minutes, and use the Insert and Delete button to make loopings. I even aggroed some casters at Blade’s Edge so I could do loopings while tracked by Arcane Missiles. The first one is always special, and it gives a feeling of freedom that is hard to put into words.

9 – Killing Algalon

Not many did it on our server, and this fight was hair-raising. Worse than the fight itself was the list of things that could go wrong, and the people complaining how hard it was. The fact that Blizzard put in the “I feed on your tears” achievement made it all the worse for me. I was nervous as hell, but after three weeks of tries we got him down.

I even went a little insane and bid DKP on the Reply Code Alpha. The ring reward was nice, but I wanted the satisfaction of being the one to send the “All okay down here, guys!” message over as well. It felt glorious.

8 – Completing Glory of the Ulduar Raider

Finishing Ulduar until it was empty of all things to do – our top priority in the weeks before ICC was released. We were trying to get people as many Drakes as possible, because you never know when they would be removed as a reward. Thinking back, things seem a lot more simple now – but back then Freya+3 and Hard-mode Thorim (I have to MC the adds? Oh nooooeeessss!) seemed impossible at times.

7 – Becoming World Explorer and Loremaster

I loved seeing places, and in an effort to explore all of Azeroth and Outland I have seen some outlandish sites. It’s hard to pinpoint sometimes when sometimes is truly discovered, and there’s a lot of hidden places in WoW that are really nice to see.

Some of these are now inaccessible, such as the airport strip near Ironforge, or the room of upside-down sinners near Karazhan (neither of which I had the pleasure to see myself) but I can recommend anyone to visit the dancing Troll village on the border of Winterspring – it’s quite a fun place to make some screenshots to prove you were there.

Azeroth’s a big place, be like a tourist! Feel free to take some time to do something that gives you no direct benefit outside of some fun and relaxation. Do the quests, read the stories, and a simple game can turn out to have deep meanings…

6 – Getting my Warlock a full set of T1 (Felheart)

Call me crazy, but many of my toons are projects. I had the imagine in my mind of a Human warlock wearing the complete Felheart set. And so I built myself a Warlock, that’s how it goes. Now she’s level 80 and has reasonable PvP gear (I rarely do heroics on her, and I am still practicing being a Warlock) but she has the full T1. And I love the looks. The old stuff was still the good stuff.

5 – Completing my personal economy

I am a big fan of being as self-sufficient as I can, so I try to get as many professions as I can to merge on my main and alts. With 4 alts and a main having all major professions except for Leatherworking, I feel like I have reasonably completed the goal of being my own internal economy. Sometimes it is more expedient to buy mats or products on the AH, but I don’t need to (except for leatherworking leg patches, but those are not a must except for my tank) – I could play the game at a competitive level even if the AH was completely empty.

This means I need money only to get me stuff I want (pets, mounts, powerleveling alt’s professions) – raiding alone provides enough money to continue raiding. This also implies my gold balance only goes up, and it does so even if I am not putting stuff on the AH or doing daily quests.

5 – Getting Anathema

It all starts with a trip through Molten Core to get the Eye of Divinity, and being given the gift of an Eye of Shadow (Eliya was kind enough to send me his) leading to an epic quest of…healing? Oh gosh you have to be kidding me! Yes kids, Shadow was for PvP back in the days, so to be an epic priest you were healing. And while Benediction can be turned into Anathema, you still need to do the healing quest to get it.

Ouch. I have tried this quest for ages, since I had no experience healing whatsoever. I hardly knew what those buttons were doing on my bars anyway. I couldn’t tell my Greater Heal from my Resurrection, and Flash Heal looked sort of like that too. Finally, I did manage it and was delighted to be granted the right to wield Benediction. Of course, the moment the questgiver wasn’t looking I turned it into Anathema and never changed it back!

4 – Epic Showdown of law and chaos

I was once a member of the RP guild “The Dark Embrace”. The concept of the guild was that we were evil cultists, and had many schemes and manipulations going on under the cover of being respectable members of the community. The kicker was that other RP guilds could request our involvement in their own storylines, making us a bit of a “Guild for hire”. This was an established and well respected guild, and it was quite a blast to interact with the law-abiding Mountaineer guild (Dwarves who protect Ironforge and the Dwarven District), the Scarlet Missionary (More mild-mannered Scarlet Crusade members preaching in Stormwind) and various guilds of criminal and lawful intent.

Our big showdown was at the Gates of Ironforge, where ranks of Mountaineers tried to take down us crazy cultists, even as we sent in unwitting allies, mindless Homonculi and summoned creations. Some of us were slain, never to return, others were salvaged for a greater good. And of course, a Shadowpriest worth her salt never shows up in the flesh – only the Shadow will do. That was two full hours of fun and entertainment trying to outflank and outwit a group of intelligent players – imagine a relatively slow PvP fight if you will. Even up to the very end it was unclear who would win.

After this, RP never got to be quite as refreshing, and the Dark Embrace eventually dwindled in size and disappeared. But they are spoken of even to this day, and I am proud to have been involved. If RP would go back up to these standards and levels of fun, I’d be up for it. That’s why we play games right?

3 – Recognizing my Fail

When I first started playing, one of the earliest toons I built was a Troll Shaman – laugh all you want but I have never been able to level a Shaman after that. I knew nothing of the game, and was trying to get along with whatever I could. I was an Elemental Shaman, because I liked Lightning Bolt. I loved all the lightning and Storm spells. I had a shield, because it protected me, and I felt special because only Plate classes could use one.

But I died a lot, and I didn’t like it. So I got Stamina gear – lots and lots of Stamina gear. So I ended up being a Shaman who cast Lightning Bolts with no Spellpower (none!) and enough Stamina for my health to eclipse that of the tanks back then. And I still wondered why leveling was sooooo slow.

Yeps, I failed pretty hard back then. But it was fun! There was no stress, no raids, no need to achieve anything. Plus, I was the only person around who had 300 Alchemy at level 35…

2 – My first dungeon: Naxxramas

Let me tell you beforehand that I was once terrified of instances. Scared as hell, couldn’t cope. It felt like a high-pressure situation, lots of chance to die and minimal benefits. Why go into dungeons when you can just quest to level up and be done with it?

I had reached level 63 and hadn’t done any dungeon in the game yet – no instance, ever, on any of my characters. I had the misconception at the time that even Deadmines would require you to be an Elite player, and that certainly wasn’t me! And then, people from Unity started a Naxx run – the level 60 run, mind you. They were inviting people from other guilds because it was supposed to be fun, and so I got dragged in along with half a dozen friends. I think we cleared four bosses or such, including Patchwerk, Grobbulus and some of the Spider Wing.

It was immense.

Here I was, never been to a dungeon, being allowed straight in Naxx! With suckage gear, no skill, and being a Shadowpriest! I wasn’t even asked to heal. I can tell you that this was very special back then. I had the time of my life. I started doing instances when asked, and even started raiding at level 70. And that leaves me here today, being a member of Unity (the guys I had seen as my idols since level 34 on) and raiding ICC. That’s a long, strange trip right there.

1 – Blood Elf vs. Draenei

I sometimes like to challenge myself, and when TBC was launched I had long tired of my dumb Troll Shaman and my slow to level Protection Warrior. My Feral Druid was stuck in Feralas at level 35 because I wanted to learn a Leatherworking specialization but couldn’t get through the level 43-43 mobs without dying. I left her in the woods in a fit of anger and decided to do something new.

TBC saw the introduction of two new races, the Blood Elves and Draenei. I liked them both, and was eager to build one of each – A Draenei Priest (because shadowpriests were overpowered in PvP, I always got beaten by them so I wanted my taste of being uber) and a Blood Elf Warlock (because it just seemed like the right thing to do). Now, the BE had the advantage in that I already had Horde toons to support it, and I knew my way around a bit. The Draenei Priest had a considerable disadvantage in that it meant starting from scratch with no support, guild or people I knew.

Then I met Eliya – I was level 34 or so, he was level 60 and doing raids. Over time, he became my mentor of sorts, teaching me things about Shadowpriests, how to gear and what to look for. He listened patiently to my rants and gave me advice when I thought I’d never understand how those slow DoTs worked. At about level 40 I had a complete set of Shadow Weave in the bank, waiting for Natarumah to level up and wear it. As you can guess, my BE Warlock never made it.

Had things be different, had I not received such support from someone who was passionate about Shadowpriests, I would never have leveled Natarumah to 70. I would never have joined the Naxx raid that sparked my love for dungeons. I never would have understood the mechanics of the class. I would never have started this blog (and if I had, it’d probably be something like “Cursed Blood” and be about Warlocks) which allows me vent my love for writing and researching.

Without #1,  number 2 through number 10 would never have existed.

Conclusion

Life, even in a virtual word, is made up of the threads of fate. These threads form webs, where each intersection is a given choice at a given moment. My character, my blog and my experiences to date all result from a single, almost arbitrary choice. How different would it all have been, had my choice been another.

Do you remember moments in the game very fondly? Have you encountered similar game-changing situations? What makes you smile whenever you feel like the game has grown dull?

One Response to “My top 10 WoW moments”

  1. So many of your experience mirror mine. Are you my twin? It’s uncanny. Well except for the RP experiences :)

Leave a Reply

