Guide preview – In the Service of Dragons

Hello again! I’ve been working a bit on an example guide as I promised in a previous post here. Like I stated there, I am looking into making a couple of guides that will allow us to spend some quality time getting things done that we’d normally leave by the wayside. Ancient questlines, achievements, lost pets and evil Dwarves are lurking!

This is the first in the line, something I am actually working on as we speak – the Scepter of the Shifting Sands questline. Once used to open up the Gates of Ahn’Qiraj by a simultaneous effort of multiple guilds and hundreds of contributors, it has now been largely forgotten. But you can still claim the Scepter in the last days before the Cataclysm, before it might get removed.

In Service of Dragons

Follow the link to open up the guide as a PDF file. It’s complete including two cheat sheets; one with a roster of all quests and one with all required materials in the quest lines. Even though I made the list as clear and lean as I could, I still found the room to add a bit of eye-candy as well.

Tell me what you think, and I will incorporate the feedback into the next guide I am making; unless someone feeds me a better idea, I am thinking of doing Cass’ request for a Shadowpriest Dungeon Solo guide next.

In other news

After weeks of working and tweaking Unity managed to complete Glory of the Icecrown Raider on 25man difficulty. We also managed to snag more Bloodbathed Frostbrood Vanquishers from the 10man as well, which leads me to have two shadowy bone dragons to pick from.

Stirrings at the Beta

Dedicating a full post on what’s going on in the Beta for Cataclysm seems a bit pointless, as more changes than I could report. Just some highlights then:

  • Mind Spike now stacks a crit buff for Mind Blast to 100%, instead of reducing cast time
  • Shadow Word: Death now has a 10 second cooldown (down from 12) and deals 10% extra damage
  • Vampiric Touch no longer deals damage when dispelled
  • Twisted Faith now gives 1/2% hit and 50/100% of Spirit as Hit
  • Improved Devouring Plague does not increase DoT damage anymore
  • Paralysis, new talent, roots the target for 2/4 seconds with a Mind Blast crit (see Mind Spike above for PvP implications)

In the Guild department, some of the rewards have been released such as the awesome Dark Phoenix mount and pet, Heirloom head items, Heirloom cloaks and Guild banners/heralds. Heralds? Yes.

Like the little Argent Tournament Tyke, it seems you can have your own flagbearer announcing the awesomeness that is your guild by having him put up the guild’s banner. While not equally exciting to everyone, there is at least one good tactical use for it as well, and historically correct: using it as a collapse point during PvP encounters or raids. “Collapse on Banner” might become a new slogan in raiding…

One Response to “Guide preview – In the Service of Dragons”

  1. […] not the first time I speak of Classic content, having made posts before on the Scepter of the Shifting Sands, for instance. I also fully intent to get a few guides going in this style if people find them […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.